THE CHALLENGE

To run your Mainframe on a reasonable and low MSU level, the basic requirement is that all WLM settings are ideal. Clients often have the problem that they either have no possibility to create suitable graphics as a deciding base for WLM goals or they have tools in action, which already require “an expert’s knowledge” during the creation. Making the workload behavior transparent is decisive for all our decisions.

Therefore our approach has been to create a possibility that pretty much everybody - even the ones out of the operating department- is able to check and supervise “their” Workload, concerning their achievement of objectives.

In connection with a one day WLM performance – schooling, respectively orientation – we set the pre-condition for your company, so that many people can work on the topic “performance” and develop an understanding for this.

GRAPHIC PRESENTATION

With the zWorkload reporter you have a simple possibility to present your consumption data and all WLM goals with informative and “management capable” graphics. Those graphics combined with the knowledge about Mainframe Performance make it possible for you to make WLM decisions, check them, or analyze problems goal-oriented at any time.

INFORMATION PRECESSING

The best way to use our extraction-tool perfectly is to include it in your SMF process. That way we ensure that all necessary Performance data gets extracted and loaded in our database daily. Because this process happens during the night, there won’t be any interruptions during the day in zWR and you have access to your data and can analyze it through the intranet or the internet at all times. All other processes function automatically without you having to interfere manually.

INSTALLATION

The zWorkload Reporter is not a classic product that you install locally in your data center, it's a service or a better cloud service. For this reason, zWR is installed on servers in our data center. Access is encrypted via our website from the Internet.

From your point of view zWorkload reporter is a job that you need to include in your nightly SMF process. This extracts the required data and sends it. Another advantage is that you automatically receive all zWR system updates and you don’t have to worry about anything else (external server, backup of data, administration, aso.). Once installed, filling the database happens automatically.

zWORKLOAD REPORTER

The zWorkload Reporter exists of off two components. First there is the extraction program which collects necessary performance data on the host, in which the tool analyzes different SMF records. Besides that there is a computer component, so that the Mainframe won’t be additionally stressed because of the storage and the performance analysis. It also helps to avoid additional costs. The computer – zWorkload Reporter – component is universal to install and use directly on pretty much all current platforms. We’ll talk about the details with you as a customer for every particular installation. The installation and orientation happens through zBusiness Services GmbH & Co. KG. With that technique we are able to load even historical performance data into the zWR Framework and to generate meaningful graphics right at the beginning. Performance data, that is already older and isn’t needed anymore, will be removed from the database, packed and stored as a file. If you want to analyze that data again later, you can reload it through a dialog into the database. That way you can look at it and analyze every moment again as soon as our product has been introduced.

CONTACT

zBusiness Services GmbH & Co. KG
Contact person: Uwe Oswald
Telephone: +49 (0) 6246 9048153
Fax: +49 (0) 6246 9074220
E-Mail: info@zbss.de
Grüner Weg 1
67575 Eich/Germany

COOPERATION PARTNER

Logo ASG Logo InteroConsulting

DIE HERAUSFORDERUNG

Um Ihren Mainframe auf einem sinnvollen und niedrigen MSU Level betreiben zu können, ist die Grundvoraussetzung, dass alle WLM Einstellungen optimal sind. Kunden stehen häufig vor dem Problem, dass sie entweder gar keine Möglichkeit haben hierfür geeignete Grafiken als Entscheidungsgrundlagen für WLM Ziele zu erstellen oder Tools im Einsatz haben, die schon „Expertenwissen“, alleine in der Erstellung, voraussetzen. Das Workload Verhalten transparent zu machen ist maßgebend für alle Entscheidungen.

Unser Ansatz war deshalb eine Möglichkeit zu schaffen, dass praktisch Jeder –auch aus den Fachabteilungen– in der Lage sein kann, „seine“ Workloads im Hinblick auf deren Zielerreichung, zu überprüfen und zu überwachen.

In Verbindung mit einer eintägigen WLM Performance – Schulung, bzw. – Einweisung, schaffen wir die Voraussetzung für Ihr Unternehmen, dass viele Personen an dem Thema „Performance“ mitarbeiten können und hierfür ein Verständnis entwickeln.


Grafik zu zWorkload Reporter

GRAPHISCHE DARSTELLUNG

Mit dem zWorkload Reporter haben Sie eine einfache Möglichkeit Ihre Verbrauchsdaten und alle WLM Ziele in aussagefähigen und „managementtauglichen“ Grafiken dar zu stellen. Diese Grafiken zusammen mit dem Wissen über Mainframe Performance versetzen Sie in die Lage zu jedem Zeitpunkt WLM Entscheidungen zu treffen, zu überprüfen oder Problemsituationen zielgerichtet auswerten zu können.

INFORMATIONSVERARBEITUNG

Der beste Weg, unser Extraktions-Tool optimal einzusetzen, ist es in Ihre nächtliche SMF Verarbeitung einzubinden. Dadurch wird gewährleistet, dass täglich alle notwendigen Performance Daten extrahiert und in unsere Datenbank geladen werden. Da diese Verarbeitung in der Nacht geschieht, entsteht tagsüber keine Unterbrechung im zWR und Sie können jederzeit im Intranet oder über das Internet auf Ihre Daten zugreifen und diese auswerten.

Alle weiteren Abläufe funktionieren automatisch, ohne dass Sie dafür manuell eingreifen müssen.

INSTALLATION

Der zWorkload Reporter ist kein klassisches Produkt, welches Sie lokal in Ihrem RZ installieren, sondern eine Dienstleistung oder besser ein Cloud Service. Aus diesem Grund wird der zWR auf Server in unserem Rechenzentrum installiert. Der Zugriff erfolgt verschlüsselt über unsere Webseite aus dem Internet.

Aus Ihrer Sicht ist der zWorkload Reporter ein Job, den Sie in Ihren nächtlichen SMF Ablauf einbinden müssen. Dieser extrahiert die benötigten Daten und verschickt diese. Ein weiterer Vorteil: Sie erhalten automatisch alle zWR-System-Updates und müssen sich um keine weiteren Dinge (externer Server / Backup / Admin) kümmern. Einmal eingerichtet erfolgt das Befüllen der Datenbanken automatisch.

zWORKLOAD REPORTER

Der zWorkload Reporter besteht aus zwei Komponenten. Zum einen aus dem Extraktions-Programm, das auf dem Host die notwendigen Performancedaten sammelt, indem das Tool verschiedene SMF Sätze auswertet. Zum zweiten aus einer PC Komponente, um den Mainframe nicht zusätzlich durch die Aufbewahrung und die Performance Auswertungen zu belasten und zusätzliche Kosten zu unterbinden. Die PC – zWorkload Reporter – Komponente ist universell, auf praktisch allen gängigen Plattformen, zu installieren und sofort einsetzbar. Für die jeweilige Installation werden vorher die Details mit Ihnen als Kunde besprochen, die Installation und Einweisung erfolgt durch die zBusiness Services GmbH & Co. KG.Mit der Technik sind wir in der Lage auch historische Performancedaten in das zWR Framework zu laden und damit bereits zum Start aussagekräftige Grafiken zu generieren. Performancedaten, die bereits älter sind und aktuell nicht mehr benötigt werden, werden aus der Datenbank entfernt, gepackt und als File abgelegt. Möchten Sie diese Daten zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt nochmals analysieren, dann können Sie diese über einen Dialog nachträglich wieder in die Datenbank zurückladen. Dadurch können Sie, ab dem Zeitpunkt der Einführung unseres Produktes, praktisch jeden Zeitpunkt nochmal anschauen und auswerten.

Grafik zWorkload Reporter

KONTAKT

zBusiness Services GmbH & Co. KG
Ansprechpartner: Uwe Oswald
Telefon: 06246 9048153
Telefax: 06246 9074220
E-Mail: info@zbss.de
Grüner Weg 1
67575 Eich

KOOPERATIONSPARTNER

Logo ASG Logo InteroConsulting